June 13, 2018

This is What Happens if You Reject the Permissions of an App

As a result of knowing that the few apps use GPS and the microphone of your mobile as a spy to detect infractions of emission rights, we tell you what happens if you reject the permissions of an application.

In a time when scandals concerning the use of user data or the violation of privacy through the permissions of the apps, it is positive that you know what happens when you reject the permissions that an application requests after downloading it. The reasons to worry are not few: only this week it came to light that the application of LaLiga uses your smartphone to know thanks to the activation of the GPS in which bar you are and if it broadcasts football without a legal license, using it for your microphone.

this-is-what-happens-if-you-deny-the-permissions-of-an-app

From Panda Security warn that “the permissions required by the applications, such as the terms and conditions of use, can be ambiguous and too extensive”. It is common for developers and companies to abuse information or the scarcity of users who, in the current dizzying era. they spend their time to gut the text, but it is important to be clear that the user must be aware that he has control over what he installs on his/her device.

How to Prevent Facebook from Spying your Data (in 2 minutes)

Android has tools to monitor who is granted or denied access to each service on your smartphone, but it happens that there are several apps that decide to offer a single list of permissions when you install them. In these cases, there is no choice but to say yes to all or decline the installation of the app.

Google urges developers to adopt granular permissions

Google wants developers to adopt a more secure format for users, such as granular permissions, or those they use to request access to privileges to the system, requesting specific elements needed to function. Most applications have this format.

If you want to see the permissions that each application uses, you have two alternatives: reading what the app itself requests or from an Android control panel. For this second option, you must go to the configuration section of your smartphone and click on the ‘Applications’ section, within which you must go to ‘Permissions’.

There you will be able to know all the permissions that the app is using to work, something fundamental to detect the most sensitive ones like storage, access to contacts, to the camera and the microphone, as well as to the location, to the telephone or to the location. Experts recommend the exhaustive review of this section and only grant sensitive permissions to trusted applications and that are also directly linked to it.

What permissions is it usual for an app to ask you?

As detailed from Panda Security, the streaming or video call apps need to request permission to access the camera. The location must be active to play any video restricted geographically by broadcast rights, and it must also be on for GPS apps like Google Maps.

Granting location permissions also means that the app has a “right” to gather information about you. If you have any doubts, you will find contact information at the bottom of the Play Store list of the application, in consultation with its responsibility for what each permit requires. Anyway, if an app asks for permissions that do not seem linked to its use, that does not inspire confidence or that you do not want to grant, the most appropriate thing is that you choose not to install it on your smartphone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *